WrestleMania XXVII

It’s been quite some time since I’ve participated in this blogging lark, and upon logging in to this site I noticed there’s still a pretty consistent daily visitor count and the occasional comment still coming in, so for those reasons I thought it was time to bombard you with my ramblings once again.

Alrighty, in typical fashion I’ll continue to largely ignore the usual world news stories and the like, so with that in mind today’s blog is about the upcoming wrestling show WrestleMania 27, due to air tomorrow night (April 3rd).  I have to make a confession before we go any further, I’ve not watched any WWE broadcasts since last years’ WrestleMania.  This is partially due to gradually losing interest as I get older and Vince McMahon continuing to cater to a family friendly audience, but it’s mainly because I cancelled my TV sports package recently so I can’t watch it even if I wanted to.  Tomorrow nights show is obviously a Pay-Per-View so I can and will be ordering that separately, and I regularly read the so-called ‘dirtsheets’ online so I fortunately have a vague idea of what I’m talking about.

The Card

WWE Championship:
The Miz (c) vs John Cena

World Heavyweight Championship:
Edge (c) w/ Christian vs Alberto Del Rio w/ Brodus Clay

No Holds Barred:
Undertaker vs Triple H

Randy Orton vs CM Punk

Michael Cole w/ Jack Swagger vs Jerry ‘The King’ Lawler
Special Guest Referee: “Stone Cold” Steve Austin

United States Championship:
Sheamus(c) vs Daniel Bryan

Rey Mysterio vs Cody Rhodes

Intergender Match:
Trish Stratus, John Morrison and The Snooki Monster vs Dolph Ziggler and LayCool w/ Vickie Guerrero

The Corre (Wade Barrett, Ezekial Jackson, Justin Gabriel and Heath Slater) vs Big Show, Kane, Santino Marella and Vladimir Kozlov

My first thought when I read the finalised card for the show was how weak it looked.  Starting from the bottom, the eight man tag team match featuring The Corre (Wade Barrett, Ezekiel Jackson, Justin Gabriel and Heath Slater) taking on the team of Kane, Big Show, Vladimir Kozlov and Santino Marella looks to be the replacement for the traditional Money In The Bank Ladder Match, which now has it’s on PPV later in the year.  This is a filler match much like MITB itself, but without the added benefit of ladder spots and Shelton Benjamin stealing the show.  The feud has been cooki-cutter stuff, The Corre took out The Big Show so Kane helped out, and later the two stormed the ring as Kozlov and Marella were being beaten leading to the match.  This has come about simply to give the eight men something to do, in particular The Corre as they look to gain momentum and popularity much like The Nexus on Raw.  I predict The Corre to win this one.

Mysterio takes on Rhodes after one of the more interesting feuds

The feud between Rey Mysterio and Cody Rhodes has a bit more originality to it – Mysterio broke Rhodes’ nose, forcing him to not only miss two potentially World Title opportunities with the Royal Rumble and Elimination Chamber matches but also ruining the ‘dashing’ gimmick he was doing at the time.   Great stuff for a guy I personally didn’t think would last longer than a couple of months when he first came into WWE and had a series of dull matches with Hardcore Holly, fortunately he’s been going from strength to strength since and this is one of the few matches I’m looking forward to on the night.  I reckon Cody Rhodes will win.

In other matches, Jerry Lawler takes on Michael Cole in what I’m predicting to be of similar quality to Bret Hart vs Vince McMahon last year, although I have read that Cole has learned a few basics.  That still doesn’t fill me with confidence however, and the WWE writers made a wise move bringing in Stone Cold Steve Austin to act as special guest referee.  My prediction is Lawler will get the victory, although Stone Cold will stand tall at the end of it all after nailing a Stunner on both men.  Sheamus also takes on Bryan Danielson for the United States Title, I’m not sure what to make of this one seeing as both have vastly different in-ring styles and Sheamus is twice the size of Bryan.  I’m expecting a tried-and-tested David vs Goliath match, with Sheamus destroying Bryan for the majority of the match before losing to a quick roll-up pin.

I know nothing about the six person mixed tag team match between Trish Stratus, some woman called ‘Snooki’ and John Morrison taking on Dolph Ziggler and LayCool, but I do think seeing as this is Trish’s first match in a while and I’m guessing Snooki is some sort of celebrity they’ll get the win in what’ll otherwise be a forgetful match.

I’ve been discussing the Orton vs Punk match for quite a while, with most people I’ve talked to being quite apprehensive about it.  I think it has the potential to be great if Orton co-operates by selling a few moves, both men are innovative enough to pull off a great back-and-forth match.  With that said it’s hard to predict a winner, I’ll go with Orton getting the pinfall after a nasty variant of the RKO.  From being hardest to predict to the easiest, Undertaker takes on Triple H with ‘the streak’ on the line as ‘Taker looks to make it 19-0 at WrestleMania.  I feel bad for Triple H in a way as no only would I bet my house on him losing but he has pretty much no chance of matching the two previous Shawn Michaels vs Undertaker matches either.  I still think it’ll be a decent bout but comparisons will be made, and it won’t be anywhere near as good.  Undertaker to win.

Alberto Del Rio isn't ready to main event WrestleMania yet

The first of the two World Title matches sees Edge defending his World Heavyweight Championship against Royal Rumble winner Alberto Del Rio, and despite the Mexican getting pushed to the moon since his debut I still don’t consider him to be a main event talent quite yet.  With that said I still think he’ll win.  The other title match sees The Miz defending his WWE Championship against John Cena, in what has been made quite likely the hottest feud of the card with the inclusion of The Rock as the special referee.  Now, I’m a big fan of The Miz and I think his rise to superstardom has gradually become more and more well deserved, he’s great on the microphone and improving all the time as a wrestler, but in all honestly the match everyone wanted to see is Cena vs Rock.  I still think it could happen and one of the rumours going around is that the two could meet at Summerslam in August, so with that in mind I think Cena will win this one and keep the title until the Summer.

In summary, the card on the whole seems quite poor to me, but I understand why guys like Del Rio and The Corre faction have been thrust into prominent roles in the WWE.  They need more main event talent and fast, most of the current crop are in their 40’s (Kane, Big Show, Triple H, Undertaker etc) but I still think it’s too early forAlberto Del Rio in particular.  Still, we’ll see how things pan out, I’ll certainly be watching the show with some optimism.

Posted on April 2, 2011, in Sport and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Couldn’t agree with you more to be honest, I don’t think wwe did a really good job with this years WrestleMania (but again I haven’t watched it since last years WrestleMania aswell) but I’ll be honest and say I’m only buying for the Taker vs Undertaker match and to see what the rock is up to :b

    • Taker vs Undertaker? Actually seeing him wrestle himself sounds more exciting than some of the other matches! 😛

      But yeah, I know what you meant. I’m also interested in what The Rock is going to do, to be honest if he wasn’t part of it I probably wouldn’t bother with WrestleMania at all.

  2. Thanks – where is article source?

  1. Pingback: WrestleMania XXVII Review « Devastating The Obvious

Leave a Reply

